Back Again

Well it has been a good couple weeks since I gave you all an update. I guess I should start off with the new school.

I just started working at a new school, as of Monday, and it has been going well. The teachers are nice and I get to do most of my teaching in the new computer room, with a projector, internet, video, whatever I can mange to use (here right now). It is pretty sweet, plus all the students have their own computers to use as well, and I guess I can monitor them and do some high tech stuff, but we haven’t learned about all that yet.

I have only done my self-intro so far, but was able to show them pictures off flickr and videos off youtube, as well as make an online quiz about myself to make sure they were listening. The new school is a technical high school, so the kids here are studying to become mechanics, engineers, electricians, etc.. This is great because I might be able to check out some of the computer classes, or auto classes and learn so really useful stuff; but on the other hand the students aren’t to pumped about learning English-this makes for some noisy classes sometimes.

I am hoping to take advantage of the computers, and bring in new and different techniques to engage the kids. Maybe I can actually get them interested in learning English. That has always been the goal, but now I can really do some interesting things with them, so it might be a little easier to make it all happen.

Kai and Aya are doing well. Kai man is getting huge, with feet about the size of a 3 year old. Aya and I think he is definitely going to be 6 foot, who knows, maybe he will be even taller! I am back at my Japanese class, studying on Tuesdays and Thursdays. It is nice to be back in the classroom studying again after the spring break. I can feel the brain muscles working, which is always a good sign.

Kai has really taking a liking to buses, cars, and trucks. Every time we are out and he sees a bus, he says “Ba-ba.” It is his new favorite word, and is super cute to hear. When we are home he plays with his toy cars 24/7 and love reading his books about cars and trucks. He has acquired a few other new words as well: “Ma-ma” for mommy, “shiuuss” for juice, and “tin-tin” for chin chin (Japaneses for you guessed it, penis). I think he is going to start speaking Japanese at first, but since we are moving back in August for good, that is probably a good thing.

I am not sure if I mentioned that before, but the plan now is to move back to the states in August, and hopefully be working at a private school teaching Japanese or ESL. I have applied to a bunch of schools, but no leads yet. I will keep you guys posted on that. Also I will throw up some of the pictures and videos we have from the Cherry Blossom season here in Japan, which has just ended. It was beautiful to see again, and it only lasts for about 2 weeks out of the year. We know it won’t be our last one, but it might not be for 5-10 years before we can get back for another hanami.

Leave a Reply

