You Haiku?

Haiku

A winter has come.
I need a hot chocolate,
to shake off the cold.

I was looking for something to keep me occupied before taking off from work and decided a haiku would be interesting.

Anyone who wishes to express themselves in a 5-7-5 syllable pattern, feel free to give it a whirl. It is strangely catartic and immediately woke me up from my daily stupor. You might surprise yourself.

Some other Haikus I like:

Snow in my shoe
Abandoned
Sparrow’s nest
–Jack Kerouac (collected in Book of Haikus, Penguin Books, 2003)
 
Worker bees can leave.
Even drones can fly away.
The queen is their slave.
Fightclub, the film
 
Ripple in still water
When there is no pebble tossed,
Nor wind to blow.
–“Ripple,” The Grateful Dead
 
Another year is gone
a travelers shade on my head,
straw sandals at my feet.
Matsuo Basho, the Master of Haiku
 
Leave a Reply

