Kanji For Life

Life

How do you say Life in Japanese? It is easy, sei katsu | セイカツ | 生活 =

Life

Okay so here is the deal. This is the kanji for life: 生. It’s a very pretty character and something that obviously reappears a lot in the Japanese language. I am really committed to learning this language, but it takes a lot of effort and even a couple good wake up calls. I got to thinking, what is the best way to get a hold of this Japanese Monster, in a manner that is convenient and efficient (especially for busy Dads). I came up with the not so novel idea of starting a new blog. This site will basically serve as my own personal dictionary, which I can cater just to my liking.

I’ve learned that the best way to study sometimes, is to just teach it for yourself (I am practically the smartest person I know with respect to the customs of Americans’ eating habits, shoe permitted buildings, baseball teams, and idiosyncrasies of the spoken dialect. This is probably due to the fact that I live in Japan and no one here is American, but I digress.) So in any case, it is easy to see that Japanese is going to be with me For Life.

Now on to today’s lesson.

Readings:

  • ON (1): SEI (セイ)
  • ON (2): SHō  (ショウ)
  • kun (1): i(kiru)  生きる
  • kun (2): i(keru) 生ける
  • kun (3): nama  生

Radical:

  • N/A
  • Residual part(s): N/A

Compounds:

  • 生活 (セイカツ) - life = seikatsu
  • 先生 (センセイ) – teacher = sensei
  • 学生 (がくせい) – student = gakusei
  • 生ビール (ナマビール) – draft beer = nama bīru
  • 生まれ変わる (ウマレカワル) – to be born again = umarekawaru

Example Sentence:

  • 生活は面白。 = Seikai wa omoshiroi.
  • Life is interesting.

LifeLively

I thought this was an appropriate way to start the Kanji off. This is the Kanji for life and is seen in many compounds.

2 responses to “Kanji For Life

  1. I have seen many books with many kanji charts and with compounds. But almost all of this books show you compounds with kanji characteres that have not appeared yet. I mean, a compound of kanji 35 (which you are studying right now) with kanji 1254 (which you will study in later months).

    The only book that I know which takes this into account is 300 kanji with 1000 words and I think that this is a better approach.

    Greetings

Leave a Reply

