Moving On

Dad and Kai

Kai has been a great baby for 5 months, and now it is time to take a step towards growing up a little (not already I hear you all screaming). Don’t worry, everything is alright, we are just moving Kai from the futon, that is right next to ours, to the crib.

So far Kai has been sleeping right beside us and sometimes right between us, every night. This is common in Japan, where the baby will sleep with or very close to the parents for a LONNNNNGGG time. I decided to engage the 50% of Kai’s American side and set him up in a crib in the adjacent room. My dream is that he will sleep like a baby. So far that dream isn’t exactly perfect.

Last night I put Kai down in the crib and it went….howyousay…not a gouuda? He was crying for a good 30~40 mins until I think he just exhausted himself out and feel asleep. After that he woke up once, where upon I woke up to rock his crib so he could go back to sleep again. I made a promise with Aya that when he wakes up in the crib I will get up and rock him back to bed because she was not for the whole crib plan. It was tough to even get the crib in play, but I manged to play the American Culture card and it worked out okay.

In Japan the mothers always keep their babies very close to their beds or even in their beds for a long time, sometimes until the child is one. Therefore it was rather difficult to convince Aya that Kai needed to be in a crib in a different room. We are still working out the kinks; Kai still magicaly wakes up in the bed with us sometimes, but I think when this process is finished we all will be getting a lot more sleep.

That reminds me, I need to sleep.

 ZZZ

Leave a Reply

